CAMP BADO DANGWA, La Trinidad, Benguet: In coordination with the LGUs, 52 areas were designated in the six provinces in the Cordillera region as firecracker zones to minimize firecracker related injuries as the populace welcomes the year 2018.

The designation of firecracker zones is in line with President Duterte’s Executive Order No. 28, which regulates the use of firecrackers and pyrotechnic devices. Fireworks zones was designated mostly in school grounds, plazas or public parks, basketball courts, and other safe places for the fireworks.

In Abra, Abra Police Provincial Office has designated 28 firecracker zones: In Bangued located at Barangay Zone 2; in Boliney at Barangay Poblacion; in Bucay at Barangay Poblacion; in Bucloc at Barangay Poblacion; in Daguioman at Barangay Poblacion; in Danglas at Barangay Poblacion; in Dolores at Barangay Poblacion; in La Paz at Barangay Poblacion; in Lacub at Barangay Poblacion; in Lagangilang at Barangay Laang; in Lagayan at Barangay Poblacion; in Langiden at Barangay Poblacion; in Licuan-Baay at Sitio Baquero, Nalbuan; in Luba at Barangay Poblacion; in Malibcong at Barangay Poblacion; in Manabo at Barangay Poblacion; in Peñarrubia at Barangay Poblacion; in Pidigan at Barangay Poblacion East; in Pilar at Barangay Poblacion; in Sallapadan at Barangay Poblacion Gangal; in San Isidro at Barangay Poblacion; in San Juan at Barangay North Poblacion; in San Quintin at Barangay Poblacion; in Tayum at Barangay Poblacion; in Tineg at Barangay Alaoa; in Tubo at Barangay Poblacion; in Villaviciosa at Barangay Poblacion; and in Manabo at Barangay Luzong.

In Kalinga has 6 identified firecracker zones: In Tabuk located at Tabuk City National High School Ground, Tabuk City , Kalinga; in Balbalan at Balbalan Central Elementary School Poblacion, Balbalan; in Pasil at Sitio Sigil, Amdalao Guinau-ang; in Pinukpuk at Municipal ground,Taga Pinukpuk; in Rizal at Rizal Central School, Babalag East; and in Tanudan at Sitio Pagugo Elementary School.

In Apayao has identified 5 firecracker zones: In Kabugao located at Public Plaza, Poblacion; in Luna at ETSCSO Payanan, San Gregorio and in Flora located all in Poblacion East at Flora Public Market, Flora NHS, and Flora Park.

In Ifugao has 5 identified firecracker zones: In Tinoc located at Poblacion, Tinoc Ground; and in Kiangan at Poblacion, Kiangan Ground; Brgy Bolog Ground; Brgy Hucab Ground; and Brgy Baguinge Ground.

In Mountain Province has 5 identified firecracker zones: in Bontoc located at Chico Bridge, Samoki, Bontoc; in Paracelis at Municipal Ground, Poblacion; in Sabangan at San Alfonso High School Compound, Poblacion; in Sadanga at So. Abew, Poblacion; and in Sagada at Mission Compound, Poblacion.

In Benguet has 3 identified firecracker zones: in Bakun located at Ampusongan Elementary School Grounds, Ampusongan; and in La Trinidad at Benguet Sports Complex, Wangal, La Trinidad, Benguet and BSU Oval, Balili, La Trinidad, Benguet.

While the City of Baguio has negative designated firecracker zones.

Under the Republic Act 7183 otherwise known as the law that regulates the manufacture, sale, distribution and use of firecrackers, violators will be metted with a fine not less than P20,000 and not more than P30,000 or imprisonment of a minimum of 6 months and maximum of 1 year .

Firecrackers allowed in the designated areas are Baby Rocket, Bawang, Small Trianggulo, Pulling of Strings, Paper Caps, El Diablo, Judah's Belt, Sky Rocket or Kwitis, and other types equivalent to the foregoing in explosive content.For Pyrotechnic Devices, allowed are Mabuhay, Roman Candle, Trompillo, Whistle device, Butterfly, Fountain, Luces, Sparklers, All kinds of pyrotechnic devices or "pailaw" and other types equivalent to the foregoing devices.

PROCOR will maximize the deployment of personnel to ensure the compliance to the provisions of EO 28 and RA 7183.

The public is advised to observe safety precautions to prevent firecracker related injuries and ensure a safe and healthy holiday festivity. (PROCOR RPIO)